you have good eyes

Beware…Giant Dog!

Now that I am permanently in San Francisco, Champi, Dorothee, and I have some time to relax and go walk on the beach. This shot was captured along the shore in from of Pedro Point. (Check out the previous post. It was taken somewhere along that stretch of shoreline.) In the time that I was away, Champi has grown and become more confident with the ocean tide. Not only will she wade in the water to her kneecaps, I witnessed her go in deep enough to get her neck wet!  This is pretty unheard of for Akita Inu dogs, but when Champi gets overheated, she rather be cool and wet than remain hot. Yes, this girl knows what she wants…!

I hope you enjoy the perspective in this photo. Champi just turned 1 year old yesterday and is now a huge pup…look at where she has come from.  She looks so huge compared to her surroundings.  And I pity the poor sea plant she is chewing on too!!

As for me, Dorothee and I are figuring out our routine, and I am on the job hunt here is SF.  No bites yet, but it may take a little time. Well, for the time being, it will give me some time to brush up on photography and a little bit of blogging too.

Until next time,

-Jay

6 responses

  1. Lizzie

    Great picture, Jay! Love the camera angle. Happy Birthday to Champi!

    September 9, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    • Hi Lizzie, Champi says “thank you” and would probably give you a big kiss! She is a good pup. We went for a 2.5 hour hike today, because I needed to wear her out…and she is napping right now…always the cutest when sleeping.

      September 9, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  2. Liesl

    Love the angle and the great focus on her fur. Beautiful photo as always!

    September 9, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    • Hi Liesl- Thanks. You know, for a while I had written off the Nikkor 16-85 as not a great lens. I was always getting average results till I changed my style of shooting. The lens is great about getting details like Champi’s fur when shooting at F8. It is even making me be more content with having a cropped sensor. For blogging, it seems to get the job done just fine…and that will save a little cash. 🙂
      later-Jay

      September 9, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  3. Aw, look at that big puppy triangle head! I always advocate getting down low when shooting pets to make them appear larger than life, though Akitas tend to look huge no matter the angle. Love the shot!

    September 13, 2011 at 10:50 am

    • Ha ha, you are right, but look how small Champi looks in this one:
      At the Pacifica Pier 36/52

      September 14, 2011 at 11:42 am

Leave a Reply

